My Next Gig

“Every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end.”

Today was the first day of my new job at Accenture. To be perfectly honest, I had become extremely complacent in the warm womb of Sun Microsystems & had a change not shoved me to stretch, I’m not certain that I would have, but I’m super glad I did. While I was still learning every day as a result of being around super bright people, I wasn’t uncomfortably challenged & therefore, probably wasn’t progressing as much as I probably could/should have.

I can’t post much on the details of the specific product/project I’ll be focused on just yet, but I can tell you that it’s going to be an amazing challenge & the silver lining is I’ll get work with a lot of super bright folks…most new, but a couple of folks whom I’ve worked closely with in the past & whom I highly respect: Will Snow & Liz DiTucci.

I want to extend a sincere thanks to everyone who helped me gain insight along the way (through good & even the not so good experiences) & especially those who offered such kind words of encouragement & direction — I owe you. Say the word. I’m eager to return the favor.

I want to offer a special shout-out to the following folks who went out of their way to give me a boost in finding my next gig: @WillSnow, @MMaryMary, @BrianHerman, @Neeraj, @Barton808, @twothirds, @Helzerman, @EvvivaKippen, @SnoopDave & , @JimParkinson.

To those faced with making a career change, aim high — you may be surprised. 🙂

P.S. If you’re looking, Accenture is doing a LOT of hiring. I’m happy to refer you, if we’ve successfully worked together in the past.

  1. #1 by melanie gao on February 4, 2010 - 8:55 am

    Accenture is a lucky company! Best of luck to you in this new adventure. I know you will knock their socks off.

  2. #2 by John Lilly on February 4, 2010 - 11:43 am

    Congratulations, Linda!

  3. #3 by DiTucci on February 4, 2010 - 11:43 am

    I need a paper bag to contain my excitement.

  4. #4 by lskrocki on February 4, 2010 - 12:12 pm

    Melanie & John, thank you!!! 🙂

    DiTucci, I can’t wait ’til you arrive!

  5. #5 by Kate on February 4, 2010 - 12:16 pm

    Lisa – Congratulations! Although I’m still not certain that it’s worth giving up the yoga pants 🙂 – K

  6. #6 by MAC on February 4, 2010 - 1:21 pm

    Linda- I know we’ve never met….I’m Liz’s sister…..she is ridiculously excited to work with you and Will again…..Thanks for making my sister’s work life fun! All the best to you in your new endeavor!

  7. #7 by Alain Geenrits on February 4, 2010 - 1:45 pm

    Linda,

    I am super happy for you ! Accenture, way to go girl !

  8. #8 by Joe Ferrill on February 4, 2010 - 4:34 pm

    Great news Linda! Best wishes for you, Liz & Will at Accenture. The three of you are a force to be reckoned with. Good luck!

  9. #9 by Michelle Dennedy on February 4, 2010 - 4:45 pm

    Accenture is LUCKY LUCKY LUCKY!! Congratulations! 🙂

  10. #10 by Irv Stern on February 4, 2010 - 6:00 pm

    Whoo hoo – congrats, Linda! Accenture gains a social media maven/goddess and you get to work with cool peeps from Sun. I’m very happy for you.

  11. #11 by Will T on February 4, 2010 - 11:23 pm

    Congrats to Accenture on snagging one of the best talents around! Linda, how cool you get to work with Will S and Liz D again too. Bonus!!!

  12. #12 by @MMaryMary on February 5, 2010 - 12:27 am

    YOU ARE A ROCK STAR!!!

    they are so lucky to have you!

    To new beginnings!!

  13. #13 by lskrocki on February 5, 2010 - 2:19 am

    Kate, I’m totally missing my yoga pants…& the days of not really needing to comb my hair.

    MAC, OMG! I’m so excited my work wife’s sister posted a comment on my blog! You sister so rocks. You know that already tho’. 🙂

    Alain, Joe, Michelle, Irv, Will, & Mary, thanks so much, guys!

  14. #14 by PhHein on February 8, 2010 - 4:40 pm

    Wow, good luck and lots of fun, Linda!

    Phil

  15. #15 by simn bullen on February 13, 2010 - 9:15 am

    Nice one Linda, give my regards to Will and Co xx

  16. #16 by Claire Giordano on February 15, 2010 - 6:01 am

    Congrats, Linda! Can’t wait to hear about it…. Kick butt.

  17. #17 by Genevieve on February 16, 2010 - 2:25 pm

    Excellent! You’ll soon have them wishing they’d hired you long before this.

  18. #18 by Lance Andersen on February 25, 2010 - 10:04 pm

    Congrats Linda

  19. #19 by David Kippen on March 31, 2010 - 11:40 pm

    Linda,

    Congratulations to the Queen of Awesomeness! I’ll echo everyone else in saying how incredibly lucky Accenture is to have you. (Now that Tiger’s gone, they really need a star!) I’m sure you’ll bring the same passionate transformation to them that you brought to Sun. Can’t wait to hear about it! Give me a jingle next time you’re out West.

    Evviva!

    David

  20. #20 by Davidgs on October 25, 2010 - 5:18 pm

    Well, this is great and all, but you haven’t posted a word here in, like, forever. I’m adding you to my blogroll anyway in hopes that it will nudge you into posting though!

  1. A Year After: The People « Castellers v2

Leave a comment