Developing relationships 140 characters at a time

When people ask me what Twitter is, I usually say “It’s a combination of a micro-blog tool/text messaging/chatroom/feed reader with your friends, family, colleagues, co-workers and favorite time-sensitive, feeds (news feeds, earnings announcements, etc.).”

When I first started using Twitter, I had a common reaction to it: “Great, one more point of distraction.” “I barely have time for the friends I have — why would I want to allocate time to strangers?”

It’s proven me wrong. I now seem to have a more focused work blog. Those crazy off-topic thoughts with a high blogability factor, now find their way to Twitter, where there is a better opportunity of immediate conversation to compliment the emotions related to the real time experience.

I’ve also developed some amazing relationships with people in the tech sector:

  • Sun colleagues (I now know more about Sun outside of my organization & have realized my colleagues and I share some super cool interest commonalities & develop a deeper knowledge about these interests as a result)
  • Analysts (I now know more about the tech sector & they have better visibility of cool stuff going on at Sun by following Sun folks)
  • Tech celebs in the social networking space (early access to what’s hot, what works, ideas on what I can do to improve my work charter & they also get improved visibility into Sun)
  • Even a CEO of a company that develops the software that runs Sun Wikis (one of the programs that I manage). Jeffrey and I will be co-hosting an Enterprise 2.0 session this summer.

Is Twitter a relevant work tool? Sure, I think so! 🙂

The Common Craft Show has once again provided a comprehensive video that may offer more insight if you’re curious:

  1. #1 by Pam on March 6, 2008 - 8:03 am

    Awesome intro to Twitter.

  2. #2 by Kevin on March 6, 2008 - 8:54 am

    You need to get your twitter pitch to less than 140 chars.

  3. #3 by darguell on March 6, 2008 - 9:33 am

    I admit to thinking twitter was nothing more than a total time suck until I actually started using it. It really does prove to be useful and definitely more connected. Thanks lskrocki for converting me…

  4. #4 by GD on March 6, 2008 - 4:14 pm

    "Those crazy off-topic thoughts with a high blogability factor, now find their way to Twitter,…" Does this mean we won’t be seeing those very funny "Why is this necessary?" postings on your blog? I love those and will miss them. Thanks for the great video.

  5. #5 by Skrocki on March 6, 2008 - 4:22 pm

    Nonstick, thanks!
    Kevin, dang…that would a challenge.
    Darguell, you’re welcome!
    GD, werd. I like that category too. I’ll keep it and some other off-topic foo alive. 🙂

  6. #6 by David Simmons on March 7, 2008 - 7:23 am

    Ok, you got me to sign up. Can I point my manager at you when he complains that I am wasting too much time now? 🙂

  7. #7 by Marc Dierens on April 4, 2008 - 4:56 am

    Great intro to Twitter indeed, these guys have lots of cool videos. The one on del.ici.ous is excellent as well. Looking forward to connecting on Twitter and anyplace social on the web ;o)

  8. #8 by Paul Sanchez on April 12, 2008 - 12:35 pm

    Its great to see your perspective on using twitter. I had never thought of those points because I’m not in the corporate world. Its very interesting that it helped you know your colleagues more. It makes since now that you mention it. On a tangent I once got to hang out with Rebel from Sun. She is such a fun person to hangout with. Sun seems like it would be such a fun place to work for. Have fun out there on twitter.
    Paul

Leave a Reply

