Lovin’ my Nike+ iPod Kit

I’ve never been the athletic type. The closest I came was being on the pom-pon squad in high school — and even that was due more to being well-liked by the faculty judges than any gift of physical coordination I may have possessed.

Thanks to my Nike+ iPod kit and a strong desire to not look 40 on my upcoming birthday, I’ve summoned the wannabe athlete within. The kit allows me to set, track, drive toward, and hopefully meet my running goals. It works with a little chip that fits in Nike+ shoes and an adapter that connects to your iPod Nano. Each time you connect your iPod to iTunes, it uploads your running data to the nikeplus site.

Following are where things stand with my goals. I’m pretty far behind and with the addition of a new bike (more on that later) & two solid weeks of upcoming biz travel, I’d have to say my goals are at risk, but I’m thankful for the motivation…

…and now have a better idea of reasonable goals. 🙂




  1. #1 by Thin Guy on February 24, 2008 - 6:24 pm

    That’s really cool! Keep on kicking bootie! We have a double date pool side in the summer, be ready!

  2. #2 by melanie gao on February 24, 2008 - 9:39 pm

    That was a very smart move of Nike and Apple to put those products together. Good luck on getting to your goals – I’m sure you’ll do it! 🙂

  3. #3 by Shawn Ferry on February 24, 2008 - 9:54 pm

    Woot! Although seriously take your shoes on travel, slacker 🙂
    Not that I should talk since I haven’t been out in 2 weeks but I did play hockey tonight.

  4. #4 by Skrocki on February 25, 2008 - 5:23 am

    Thanks ThinGuy & Mel! Shawn, I’ll definitely be paying some add’l visits to the W Newark "gym". 🙂

  5. #5 by Dan Keldsen on April 11, 2008 - 7:16 pm

    Definitely great marketing (and solution) on the part of Nike and Apple. An adaptor for tracking bike distances would be a nice touch – Apple and Trek perhaps? And sheesh, I have multiple models and generations of iPods but no Nano. Rumor has it a new version for the iPhone (and perhaps iPod Touch) is coming "real soon now."

Leave a Reply

