Home based office perk

Not counting the optional personal hygiene perk one receives as part of being a home based worker, I LOVE that I can take a 10 minute break in the afternoon to pick my tween up from the bus stop after school. It gives us time to have meaningful conversations like this:

Me: Hey! How was school?
Her: Good.
Me: What did you learn today?
Her: Nothing.

[Pause]

Me: Did you change your mind on me participating in the “Shadow your adolescent” program on Friday?
Her: Mom, not to be mean, but only the nerds bring their parents to school.

[Pause]

Her: Did dad get tickets to the world series?
Me: No, they sold out.
Her: Mr. Osborne was trying all day to get tickets. One for him, one for his dad, and two to sell for $5,000 so he can pay down his debt.

Guess that solves the mystery on why she didn’t learn anything today.

  1. #1 by Kevin on October 23, 2007 - 2:48 pm

    She learned one way of paying down dept.
    You also learned that she’s not a nerd.

  2. #2 by Martin Englund on October 23, 2007 - 3:19 pm

    It is the responsibility of the parent to embarrass the kids, so you should tell you tween that you are not coming – then turn up wearing really odd clothes and acting weird.
    Might make the dinner conversation that night a bit awkward though 😉

  3. #3 by Brandon Carson on October 23, 2007 - 3:23 pm

    Hahahaha. I get the same perk. It takes me about 5 min to pick up my 13 year old. She will actually call me from the school as she stands there waiting for me as I’m zooming over to get her and ask me to hurry cause she’s "bored."
    God forbid teens have one idle moment to themselves.

  4. #4 by Dawn Mular on October 23, 2007 - 7:31 pm

    Ahhh Linda, the shape of "tweens" to come. Living vicariously off of your experience.. My kids are still young enough to want and demand my full attention, but I am soo not ready for the Tween Years. 😀

Leave a Reply

