Japanese names needed for new Skrocki babies

That’s right! We’re welcoming two new members to the Skrocki household. Neither are show quality, but we’re more after family pets. Let me know if you have suggested Japanese names for them. I’ll snap happier photos of them once they settle into the pond and are more visible on their terms, but here’s what I have for now:

koi

koi

I’m told, the smaller is a Gin-Rin (shiny scales) Butterfly (long flowing fins) Koi and the larger of the two is a Taisho-sanke Koi, but I’m rapidly ramping up on my koi knowledge, so I’m not sure.

koi

I’m looking forward to them getting comfortable enough with us so we can hand feed them like these beauties at the Japanese Friendship Garden in Balboa Park.

UPDATE We settled on the following names:
Akira for the little fish. It means “bright”.
Kazuki for the big fish. It means “one” or “harmony” combined with “radiance, shine” or “hope”.

  1. #1 by Kevin on September 8, 2007 - 3:14 pm

    Cho means butterfly in Japanese (and beautiful in Korean).
    Hina means Sun (sunlight) or fresh vegetables in Japanese, and is also a Hawaiian moon goddess.

  2. #2 by felix on November 6, 2007 - 5:15 pm

    I happen to know a girl by the name of Akira, to me it is an amazing name. If I had a girl, I would consider.

  3. #3 by iris on May 25, 2009 - 10:55 am

    if u want them 2 be handfed u shouldnt give them alot food
    so they’ll get gready 2 eat & will even push their limit’s 2 get food.
    i have expirence, because ive been running a koi pond succesfully for 7 years.
    how ever it is funny 2 watch them feed out of your hands. its better if they wouldnt

Leave a Reply

