Proactive Airline Apologies

My husband and I just received individual apology letters with $75 vouchers for a flight that had to call off a departure while heading down the runway due to a cargo bin warning. Upon the second departure attempt the rear lavatory faucet was stuck in the on position, so the plane returned to the gate a second time.

It’s nice that the “Proactive Customer Service Communications” folks were on top of owning the airline’s error and dished up a peace offering in the form of a voucher, but there’s only one problem…

…we weren’t on that flight. In the wake of recent airline customer service fiascos, it appears that they may have a case of apology trigger finger. I left a voice message for the memo writer so they know about the misdirected apology. I’m wondering if they are going to send an apology for the apology letter to the folks who wrongfully received it. 😉

  1. #1 by Fred Medlin on June 26, 2007 - 1:21 pm

    I wasn’t on the flight either. I wonder if I’ll get a refund, too?

  2. #2 by skrocki on June 26, 2007 - 5:14 pm

    Fred, only if you were on the same flight two days eariler. 🙂

  3. #3 by melanie gao on June 26, 2007 - 6:03 pm

    Proactive apologies, what a great idea! This reminded me of something my husband did a few years ago, back when his English wasn’t very good. He dinged our neighbor’s car as he was backing out of the driveway so he wanted to write a note to say “I think I might have hit your car. Sorry. Please call me.” But what he wrote was “I think I might hit your car. Sorry. Please call me.”

  4. #4 by john on July 3, 2007 - 12:37 pm

    It was a ruse, a distraction. I was drinking gas out of the starboard wing.
    Love,
    Gremlin Abydos

Leave a Reply

