Desperately seeking a quality phone headset

headset I blogged about this last year and the issue remains unsolved — why is phone headset technology so bad? Since that post, I’ve gotten by with a dual-earphone headband type Voice Star headset, but I have to place the mouthpiece against my mouth so people can hear me. As of late last week, the left ear phone would frequently cut in and out causing the earphone volume to go from static -> 50% -> 100% -> 50% -> static, etc. Taping the cord to itself and myself in random positions helped for a while.

Today I had enough of it, so I ran to the local electronics store at lunch and picked up a Plantronics M214i. I have to really listen to hear people clearly and according to those to whom I am speaking, they can hear me “OK, but not great.” And, yes, the listening and talking volume settings are turned all the way up.

So, the quest to find a good headset continues. Please let me know if you’re happy with yours.

PS. Excuse my hair “situation”. Some punk in a lapse of good judgment decided to open up neighborhood fire hydrants and drain our community’s 230,000 gallon tank of potable water. So, the shower is really just a trickle and the shampoo/conditioner build up prevents me from sporting my usual big Texas hair. 😉 It’ll take another two weeks to fill the tank and build up water pressure — good thing for me, I don’t have any hair shows on the calendar.

  1. #1 by ditucci on May 8, 2007 - 1:48 pm

    I’d like to see the Texas hair, please. Consider this a formal request.

  2. #2 by Pam on May 11, 2007 - 11:47 am

    I use the Plantronics H41 headset with the M12 amplifier and am extremely happy with it. It plugs right into the handset for my phone. I went through at least 4 headsets before staying with this one. Adjust the settings with a friend as a guinea pig before hosting your first concall, though.

  3. #3 by ac bettor on May 30, 2007 - 9:57 am

    I haven’t been able to find 1 I like either :O(

  4. #4 by akelly on July 8, 2008 - 2:51 pm

    I know this thread is old but I sit here in July 2008, poking around the net unsuccessfully for something so simple – a two-ear headset that I can plug into my cordless phone so I can walk around during concalls. EVERY headset I find that is for cordless phones has only one ear speaker. This is SO frustrating…

  5. #5 by headsets on June 24, 2009 - 12:19 am

    what is texas hair? Anyone..any idea…do.tell me if you know about it..

Leave a Reply

