Gamefly vs Gameznflix

My 12 year old gamer has learned the harsh lesson that the value of trading/selling used games is quite disappointing, so she’s considering spending her allowance on renting games instead. Anyone have any advice regarding their use of Gamefly, Gameznflix, or other game rental services? Based on the following, Gameznflix appears to be the better value, but I’m not sure how the service compares.

Gameznflix:
gameznflix

Gamefly:
gamefly

  1. #1 by matthew on February 23, 2007 - 7:58 am

    I have friends who have used Gameznflix and dropped them. Lots of complaints about new releases, or even old releases, taking forever to arrive once you place them in your queue. Generally I hear better things about Gamefly but recently have been seeing similar complaints. I would probably say just try one and see how it works for you. If you don’t like the service, drop it and try the other one. I tend to never trade in games due to how bad a deal they give you, unless it was a horrible game and I just want it gone. You may have better luck reselling on eBay and the like.

  2. #2 by Skrocki on February 23, 2007 - 3:53 pm

    Since gameznflix is so much more ecomical and since econmics are important when you’re talking about a 12 year old’s monthly income, we’ll try it out. Thanks for info Matthew.

  3. #3 by brown on March 5, 2007 - 10:46 am

    I hope I’m not too late in telling you this, but if you look at what’s available on each site you’ll find that GameFly has far better selection, a better website, a very good queue system, and new releases are available. Also, if you want to keep a game you can buy it from GameFly at a huge discount. Gamefly is simply a much better service (take it from someone who has tried both).

  4. #4 by Skrocki on March 5, 2007 - 12:00 pm

    Darn. We pulled the trigger and went with gameznflix for now. Our experience has been fine OK — tho’ one of the newly released games didn’t ship even tho’ it was in the top three in the queue. This tells me they may have an inventory issue with new releases, but that’s not unexpected. We’ll give it another month and see how things go. Thank you for the info, Brown.

  5. #5 by james on July 7, 2007 - 2:44 pm

    I have used both and Gameznflix has better turn time and better customer service

  6. #6 by Mike on September 26, 2007 - 11:34 am

    I am in the same boat, I really should have read more reviews before handing over my money to these scammers. 2-4 days average time? Then why all the reviews I read mirror what is being said above? It seems this is the average treatment by this company. I just spent the last 40 minutes going nowhere with thier customer service and being disconnected when they ran out fo excuses. My advice, find an alternative.

  7. #7 by Chris on November 9, 2007 - 8:01 pm

    I thought Iwould save money by going with gameznflix, BIG mistake. I had a queue of 5 games, fairly new releases and after 4 weeks not one of them came. As soon as I put an old game on my queue it was out the next day, but their inventory of new games is appalling.

  8. #8 by Alex on November 24, 2008 - 8:30 am

    I know I’m alittle late but Gamefly has a verry good turnaround I live in the Boston area. I Just signed up for Gamefly and I added my firstgame to the que saturday. Well I went on the computer the next day and My games had already ship.(Yes its a miracle they shiped on Sunday). My games arived the next day. It is alot better then my expericane with gameznflix.Note: If you want a free 2 game out 30 day trail go to http://www.gamefly.com/netflix6 before december 1 2008

  9. #9 by Fred on January 8, 2009 - 1:18 pm

    I’ve been with Gamefly for a month now and have gotten ONE game. The turnaround time is absolutely unacceptable unless you live within 5 minutes of one of the 4 shipping centers. If they dont have any of the games in your GameQ, they simply dont send ANYTHING, which is unacceptable for a pay-by-month service. I’m about to cancel.

  10. #10 by Cami on January 22, 2009 - 11:23 am

    Buyer Beware!!!!!!!
    I purchased a Gamefly membership as a Christmas gift for my son. As of today (1/22/09) he has not received anything but numerous email excuses. We have lost the $22.95 for the first month of membership; when I continued with the cancellation, I received a disclaimer that stated I would not receive a refund.
    This is one hell of a scam. I basically paid to see my kid’s excitement as he placed over 50 titles in his queque on Christmas morning. This afternoon we went to Circuit City and bought him Guitar Hero III and an 8G I-Pod for less than a year’s membership with Gamefly.
    We have had a Netflix membership for over a year and have been extremely satisfied. Since Gamefly is advertized within Netflix ads we thought it was a safe bet. I have already notified Netflix. By the way, before you look at other Internet game memberships make sure to ask them if they are affiliated with Gamefly. They apparently are selling their lousey service under other names.

Leave a Reply

