Holiday gift ideas from Core77

Core77 has posted their Ultimate Gift Guide of gifts under $77.

Some of the items are simply strange suggestions for a holiday gift — like this spray mask, for example. I wouldn’t want one as a Christmas gift, but it sure would have come in handy that day in my childhood when my brother and I were held hostage on the side of our own home by “the kids down the street” pointing cans of Aqua Net hairspray at us. I think my bad @$$ brother, who became a Marine, eventually took a spray in the face just before taking them down with some sweet G.I. Joe moves. I don’t recall being held hostage with hair spray after that day.

  1. #1 by Eric Ruhalter on November 25, 2008 - 6:19 pm

    Skrocki, I have the gift idea of the century (or at least this early part of the century) that i hope you’ll share with your readers
    I ask for just 1 minute and 26 seconds of your time. It may be the most amusing 1 minute and 26 seconds of your entire day. That is how long it will take you to view the video that gives you a glimpse inside my astoundingly humorous new parent-oriented gift book:
    The KidDictionary: A Book of Words Parents Need But Don’t Have.
    YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT. I assure you.
    Said video is here: http://www.TheKidDictionary.com
    Scroll down and click on the video screen. Please make sure your sound is on.
    I hope you enjoy it and deem my book worthy of a review to share with your loyal readers. If you’re intrigued, but not intrigued enough to check the website, allow me to attempt to pique your interest further….
    The KidDictionary: A Book of Words Parents Need But Don’t Have is a glossary of terms I coined upon realizing that the English language lacks the terminology to describe a significant amount of the many and varied complexities of living in the company of children.
    Examples:
    WISHJACK (WISH-jahk) v.: To maliciously blow out the candles on another child’s birthday cake.
    SNOOT (SNEWT) v.: To suck in rather than blow out when blowing your nose.
    ORTHODONTREPRENEUR (orth-O-dahn-truh-prenn-orr) n. : A child interested in knocking all of his own teeth out in the interest of a hefty payday from the tooth fairy.
    Each KidDefinition in The KidDictionary is accompanied by a quaint and humorous black and white photograph. The KidDictionary, by all indications, appeals to anyone who has kids, anyone who knows kids, anyone who knows someone who has kids, or anyone who ever was a kid. That’s a lot of people, and you stand to become their hero.
    I hope I’ve piqued some interest in “The KidDictionary: A Book of Words Parents Need But Don’t Have”
    (I keep sayint the title as a means of drilling it into your head. Clever, right?)
    It is available at http://www.TheKidDictionary.com and on Amazon. Please contact me if you have any questions. And I thank you for your time.
    Sincerely,
    Eric Ruhalter
    Creator/Designer/Publisher/Marketer/Publicist/Head Bottle Washer
    The KidDictionary: A Book of Words Parents Need But Don’t Have
    Eric@TheKidDictionary.com

Leave a Reply

