Blog Polls: An Alternative Blog Communications Channel

About three weeks ago, I experimented with a poll widget on my blog. The purpose of the experment was multifaceted. I wanted to:

a) Test drive the widget
b) Find out a little more about why people visit my blog
c) Prove the theory that people are more likely to respond to a poll than leave a comment

My findings:

a) pollhost.com is super simple to use. It’s a free ads-based tool. For the most part the ads are friendly, but I did notice one that I wasn’t so crazy about. I can’t remember what it was for, but it had a scantily clad chick as the focal point. They do offer an ad-free service for $29.95 a year.

b) I probably could have received more conclusive information if I had refined my question and answers, but here are the results:

c) As of this posting I have a total of 152 blog entries and 201 comments. That’s 1.32 comments on average per blog. The poll has 48 results for one blog entry. That’s 48 human responses on a single blog entry. Definitely proves my suspicion.

I’m not sure why people don’t leave comments. I don’t think it always boils down to a lack of time. How many times have you run into an acquaintance who had plenty to comment about posts you had written, but never left a comment? Why is this, I wonder?

I’ve had a few friends say that they had troubles leaving a comment a looooong time ago when we had a few bugs to work out. Maybe they fear a repeat performance? If this is the case, I assure you…

“Come on in, the water is fine.”

(I can’t for the life of me remember who wrote the above quote. Anyone?)

  1. #1 by James Dickens on October 23, 2006 - 3:51 pm

    i always leave comments when i find it necessary or requested.. because I like it when people leave comments to mine.
    of course giving away “sun bling” is a good way to get comments. 😉 hint hint

  2. #2 by melanie gao on November 3, 2006 - 1:30 am

    Way cool, thanks for the Poll host idea Skrocki! I just created a survey on my blog, will see what comes of it.
    BTW since you’re a blog expert I’ll ask you what my little sister asked me the other day. “If I miss that math question at the end, will my comment get posted anyway…?”
    – mel

  3. #3 by skrocki on November 3, 2006 - 7:28 am

    Thanks, Melanie. Please tell little sis, that if she misses the math question, she’ll receive the following spooky message: “Comment authentication failed!” I’m thinking we should at least elaborate on what went wrong and remove the emotional exclamation point. Please also let her know that she’ll be offered an unlimited number of do-overs AND she can use her calculator if needed — we won’t tell. 🙂

  4. #4 by ronk on March 5, 2007 - 12:28 pm

    I got here because of a reason that wasn’t in your survey … you were nice enough to post a comment in my new blog (the same day it was created … on a Sunday … you must live in the wires) and I came over to check out yours.
    In answer to your question:
    Come on in, the water is fine.”
    (I can’t for the life of me remember who wrote the above quote. Anyone?)
    I believe it may have been the mayor of the little town on the Cape, in the movie “Jaws”.
    Hmmm. That didn’t end well.

Leave a Reply

