Catching up on blogging…

I’m sure this is not proper blog etiquette, but since I haven’t had much time for blogging lately, I thought I’d use this entry to summarize various topics I’ve queued up to blog about. Here we go…

Scott moving from CEO to Chairman
As a tribute to Scott’s contributions as CEO, a lot of people have blogged about the first time they met Scott. I have never met him, but I remember the first time I saw him. It was the fall of 2000 and I had just joined Sun — something I aspired to do for years. I was in training at the Sun campus in Burlington, MA and Scott was speaking at an all hands. Not only was it standing room only, but the best position I could get was in a hallway where I could see him through a couple panels of glass. I was super starry-eyed — like seeing the pope or something!

The only other time I saw him, I was a volunteer at the Sun John Elway Golf Classic and was standing at the 1st hole. As Scott arrived at the hole, I meant to say something like “Hey Scott! Good luck today!”, but instead I just stood there. Frozen. Staring. Mouth agape. I’m sure he was impressed.

At any rate, Scott, if you happen to stumble upon this blog, a million thanks for making this company so great!

Jonathan takes on the role of CEO
I have had the opportunity to meet Jonathan. When I first took on the role of Program Manager for Sun Blogs, in a far more brave moment than my close encounters with Scott, I emailed Jonathan to ask if he’d attend and speak at the Sun blog user group mtg. I figured this was a long shot. To my great surprise, within minutes of my sending the email, Jonathan (himself) replied and gladly accepted the offer. I’ve worked in far smaller companies were the execs were far less accessible and interested in closely collaborating with the worker bees.

Jonathan, best of luck in your new role! Looking forward to more great blogging.

A top blog celebrity visits (and comments on) this very blog
Many of you have read Naked Conversations by Robert Scoble and Shel Israel. Both of these guys are super famous bloggers — their blogs have million of readers. Mr. Israel himself was kind enough to grace this blog with his presence. Check out his comments on this blog entry. w00t!

My 1st NASCAR race
A very good friend of ours (who shall remain nameless until he does something blog-able ;-), but is married to Shereen), introduced us to racing last year. We spent most summer Friday evenings at Colorado National Speedway watching the races (a good family thing). We graduated up to Nascar and attended our first race in Phoenix a couple weeks ago. We had fantastic seats that were high enough to see most of the track with an excellent view of the pits. The pit action is nothing less than incredible. The precision and speed in which the pit tasks are carried out are enough to gain any project managers respect. Stunning!

Check out the Phoenix airport security sign that week. At first I thought it was never-before-seen airport security humor, but it turned out to be a genuine message to passengers.

nascar

  1. #1 by Shereen on May 5, 2006 - 1:24 pm

    My last name isn’t Scoble or Israel but I know a good blog when I see one! Nice job Linda. But, you forgot to mention how starry-eyed you were when you met Roger and me…or are you keeping that for future blogs?

Leave a Reply

