iPod to Bose Cable

As a result of an old blog entry, I often receive emails regarding the cable used to connect my (officially-dead-for-the-last-time) iPod to my Bose Wave system. It’s a 1.8m audio dubbing cable…the one with the double black band on the connectors.

cable

  1. #1 by tony : frosty on February 28, 2006 - 7:37 am

    You are the worst picture taker. Ever. ;p

  2. #2 by tony : frosty on February 28, 2006 - 11:05 am

    woohoo cable pr0n!

  3. #3 by skrocki on February 28, 2006 - 11:06 am

    My Dearest Frosty,
    I originally photographed a scantily clad cable strewn wrecklessly across sheets billowing in the breeze, but I decided the additional elements took away from the ‘Here’s the cable you need’ feel I was really
    after.
    Skrocki 🙂

  4. #4 by Stacy on August 22, 2006 - 5:48 pm

    Hi – what brand is the cable you have pictured above? Is it available in the US?

  5. #5 by skrocki on August 23, 2006 - 8:04 am

    It’s been a while, so I’m not sure, but I got it at Radio Shack in the US. The image above shows “Goldseries”. That my be the brand name.

  6. #6 by Juniper on January 4, 2007 - 9:49 pm

    THANK YOU, THANK YOU, thank for simplifying my life with that post on using an “audio dubbing cable” to connect to a Bose. Especially for the picture of the scantily clad cable. That really helped me out a lot. (The less time I have to spend in Radioshack, the better!) My Bose Wave and I-pod work beautifully together. Thanks for being so thoughtful and helpful!
    Cheers!

  7. #7 by skrocki on January 5, 2007 - 7:05 am

    Hi Juniper. Yay! Glad this helped.

  8. #8 by Tom on January 21, 2008 - 10:48 am

    Awesome! Thank you so much for the post. Gotta hit the shack on the way home.
    p.s. you’re really hot!

  9. #9 by Aznav on April 14, 2008 - 5:09 pm

    And here we are a year later. Thanks!!! I have a set of Apple Pro speakers that must have been designed by OSHA because I think it goes up to twelve decibels. Inherited my dad’s Bose this month and was wondering if I could hook that to my MacBook. Here’s hoping!
    Aznav

  10. #10 by virgo on October 28, 2008 - 6:18 pm

    I have a audio dubbing cord, but i can’t figure out how to get the music to play out of my bose speakers. once i press play on my ipod, no sound comes out of the speakers. maybe it is just i am plugging the cord into the wrong hole. HELP!

  11. #11 by Skrocki on October 28, 2008 - 6:25 pm

    Hi Virgo. Try dialing up the volume on your iPod, then turning up the volume on the Bose.

  12. #12 by virgo on October 28, 2008 - 8:34 pm

    Should it be plugged into the AV in hole?
    and should the bose speaker be on AUX? still not working
    thanks

  13. #13 by virgo on October 28, 2008 - 8:38 pm

    actually, it is working, but the sound is very quiet and there is a loud buzzing noise. the volume is turned all the way up to 99.

  14. #14 by Skrocki on October 29, 2008 - 6:30 am

    Yes, the cable should be plugged into "AUX In" on the back of the Bose and set to play "AUX" from your Bose remote. Try unplugging & plugging them back in. Since you’ve verified that the volume on the iPod is turned up as well as the volume on the Bose, I’d say that you may have a faulty cable, if all of the above fails to resolve the issue.

  15. #15 by Arjun on November 13, 2008 - 7:52 am

    So just to make sure..If i just buy the regular Bose Wave Radio and use this to connect my ipod to it, I wont need to buy the "Bose Wave with Ipod connect kit" right? because its like $130 more than the regular Bose Wave..Thanks.

  16. #16 by Tim Hulsey on February 5, 2009 - 7:42 pm

    Getting the same problem virgo had. The cord is not the problem. I think the new iPod may be the problem — that is, this idea just doesn’t work anymore.

  17. #17 by Tim Hulsey on February 25, 2009 - 5:00 am

    Just got the iPod to work with the old Bose — what you need is NOT a stereo dubbing cable, but a Y-adapter audio cable.

  18. #18 by Maureen on July 17, 2009 - 10:11 am

    Very helpful information. I aam ow listening to my ipod enhanced by Bose! The great thing is with the cable instead of the docking kit the sound’s portable! I can connect my ipod to my other stereo system too! Thanks all.

Leave a Reply

