Why is phone headset technology so bad?

As mentioned earlier in my blog, I’m now working mostly from my home office. So far, settling in has been rather smooth except for the phone headset situation. I recently purchased a new corded phone with a descent speaker phone. It works pretty well except while in speaker phone mode the first few syllables of the ‘low talkers’ gets cut off.

earI’ve been experimenting with a headset that Vdot gave me (she had a bunch of spare parts), but
1) I can’t hear well unless I’m pressing the earpiece into my ear — in which case, I might as well be using the handset, and
2) Try as I might, I can’t figure out how to hook the dang thing onto my ear without folding my ear into a contorted position — which then causes it to get super hot due to the blood rushing to it.

As Will T. accurately put it, “What animal did they test these things on?!”

  1. #1 by Nick on January 31, 2006 - 10:30 pm

    Linda,
    Cellular phone headsets are equally as bad. Cherie(wifey)was constantly complaining about all of our phone conversations. Though it was mostly the content causing the complaints, she also had a problem with hearing me. Jokingly I told her to get her hearing checked and she did. Turns out she has a medical problem with her ears. So my advice to you is, as with all things technical take a look at operator error. Perhaps a hearing test may be the best fix for those faulty gadgets! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. #2 by skrocki on February 2, 2006 - 9:37 am

    Huh? What did you say? (That silly classic never grows old). ๐Ÿ˜‰
    My next step is to try out the Plantronics head-band type headset (it’s gotten a few good recommendations from other collegues). The bummer part is it isn’t compatible with the Plantronics base that goes with the pictured headset, but the good news is there are a couple bases in the supply cabinet on campus…I’ll pick one up the next time I crawl out of my cozy home office (of course, a shower is a pre-req so God only knows when that’ll happen ;-)).

  3. #3 by cabling installation on October 24, 2008 - 5:31 pm

    great post!

Leave a Reply

