Blogging Stage Fright

I’ve been lax on blogging lately for three reasons. First, the same ol’ reason people often uselessly confess: not enough time. But I’m serious…with the holidays approaching, I’m hyper-sensitive about getting it right this year since I managed to hose-up Christmas last year by focusing on a couple super big project launches and neglected to make time to put up a Christmas tree. Bad.

The #2 and most heavy reason is: blogging stage fright. I’ve had a couple distant acquaintences mention that they read my blog…and find it interesting! Huh? Really?! I was chatting with one of my husband’s co-workers at a dinner party recently and he said he was googling something and my blog came up as a result and now he’s a regular visitor. He didn’t remember what he was googling – cat haikus maybe? And today I ran into my high school friend’s mom and she said her husband reads my blog. (Hi Bill!) Too funny!

So now that I’m aware that some of my daily hits are a result of real people actually reading this stuff, I feel like I need to be more deliberate about blogging.

And the #3 reason is I’m debating about starting a personal blog but have resisted because that would be one more thing to take care of and if I focus this blog only on Sun and program management stuff, it might get a little dry.

So there you go…am I absolved from blog neglect? 🙂

  1. #1 by Jim Grisanzio on November 9, 2005 - 1:11 am

    I’ve had the same experience. 🙂 Just write for yourself. That’s the conclusion I’ve come to. I pay very little attention to the “audience” out there at this point. If I do, I totally freeze up.

  2. #2 by Claire Giordano on November 19, 2005 - 1:13 am

    I’m reading. Please keep writing! Just pretend I’m not reading and you’ll be fine. (All that said, it’s probably a good idea to prioritize Christmas tree above blogging this year! :-)) Take care! –ClaireG

Leave a Reply

