Word of the day: BIG

Why?

  1. BIGWhen I got into SFO this week, the nice lady at the car rental joint offered me a “free upgrade.” The suspicious part of my brain immediately thought “Uh-oh, don’t do it, there’s a catch.” But the rest of my brain thought “Hey, be quiet suspicious brain part, you’re just suspicious.” I wish I would have listened to my initial instinct, because it’s rather frightening to drive a BIG honking boat like this across the Dumbarton bridge with it’s concrete barriers offering no room for error.
  2. JavaOne is this week & the hallways are already buzzing with feedback from those who have been attending. Matthew has been there all week and was sharing his notes that he took entirely on his Treo.
  3. The Sun bloggers user group meeting is today and there will be lots of Sun techno-celebs there. I asked Jonathan (Sun Pres/COO), Claire (OpenSolaris big wig), and Will (my boss and the guy who is in charge of a BIG website called sun.com) to present and they all said “yes” with zero hesitation. I’ll try to discreetly snap some pictures today…while attempting to not look like a starry-eyed stalker.
  1. #1 by ThinGuy on June 30, 2005 - 9:26 am

    Doh! I know the “upgrade” myth. The worst part of getting an upgrade in a big city are 1) parking and 2) the gas costs.

  2. #2 by DiTucci on June 30, 2005 - 9:28 am

    Come on, Linda. You really miss your usual-ford-focus-rental don’t you?

  3. #3 by James McPherson on July 8, 2005 - 6:08 am

    Whenever I’m travelling for work to the USA and I’m offered an upgrade, I refuse. There’s only going to be one of me, not a bazillion, and if I could get away without having a rental car I most certainly would. Why should I drive if there’s a viable public transport option?

Leave a Reply

