Star Wars III: Why I should have played the role of Padme Amidala…

…It’s really quite simple:

1. Natalie Portman (in my opinion) really seemed out of her element in the role of Padme Amidala. The sappy scenes with her and Anakin Skywalker seemed more like a bad soap opera than anything remotely believable (I think I actually was rolling my eyes a lot during their scenes because my eye muscles feel really stretched out today ;-)). I would much rather have seen myself in this role and Joaquin Phoenix in the role of Anakin .
skrockileia
2. And the number two reason I should have played the roll of Padme is I look really super fantastic with side hair buns, as any fool can clearly – clearly – see in this photo. Oh well, I guess I could consider a hair bun role in Star Wars IV if I’m not too busy with my day job.

PS…here’s a shout out to Frosty for helping me with my buns the day the above photo was taken…that sounds funny, but you know what I mean.

  1. #1 by Will Thornburg on May 26, 2005 - 3:27 pm

    Ok, first of all Carrie Fisher already beat you to the lead female role in episode VI which is the original Star Wars movie made back in ’77 “Star Wars: Chapter IV, A New Hope.” But you’d be great in ep. III.5: “Starlight: Out With the Old, in with the Blogs.” šŸ˜‰
    Second, you are totally right-on about Padme Amidala! She was soooooo wimpy in III. In ep. I she kicked butt and in ep. II she was still the boss (mostly). I don’t know what happened between II and III. With those pregnancy hormones raging, she really should have been in top form… BTW, I read in Entertainment Weekly that when asked about Lucas’ ability to write romantic dialogue, Natalie Portman said, “I’ll take the 5th on that on. But I will say it isn’t Shakespeare.” šŸ˜‰
    I’ve heard reviews which describe Hayden Christensen’s portrayal of Anakin as “wooden.” I couldn’t agree more.
    I’d also say this movie was over-CGI-ed. I know that makes me an old fart, but who cares. I would have liked to have seen alot less panoramic and 3D “amazing” scenes, which I’m sure took tens of people weeks to create frame by frame, and alot more character development (like within the Wookie legions!). All those effects will be made to look passe once the Sony PS3 comes out anyway. šŸ˜‰
    Still, it was a fun movie and the last hour was great! Way better that eps. I and II in my opinion.
    Will T.

  2. #2 by lskrocki on May 26, 2005 - 5:37 pm

    Dude, your uber geekiness score just shot up a few notches. šŸ˜‰

  3. #3 by tony : frosty on May 26, 2005 - 9:30 pm

    heh heh .. you said “buns.”

  4. #4 by Live From the Cliffs of Insanity on June 15, 2005 - 1:06 pm

    [Trackback] I said I would write more about work and climbing, but first, this random digression.
    I live and work in Colorado, but the Sun engineering community is distributed globally. A large number of my coworkers live in California’s San Francisco Ba…

  5. #5 by Lukas on February 26, 2006 - 1:09 pm

    Wow, cool picture. You should change your hair cut permanently.

Leave a Reply

