Watch me be the rockstar!!!

As you know, my current obsession is to actually utilize close to the 40GB of space on my new iPod. While shopping for iTunes like a crazed shop-aholic, Abby (my 10 year old) asked me to download the Electric Boogie since they were learning it in dance at school (side note: I learned ‘The Hustle’ in dance class when I was her age). Knowing that the Electric Boogie came out in the prime of my dance club days (I had the biggest circa late 80’s/early 90’s hair ever and spent hours applying eye shadow back then), I thought ‘Hmmm…watch me be the rock star! I’ll download the Electric Boogie (also known as the Electric Slide) then coincidentally whip out the moves!!!’

We’ll the moves were there alright, but Abby’s half “Wow..she knows the Electric Boogie?!” expression crossed with the “I hope to all that is holy that she never ever does that in public!” expression sort of killed the ‘Watch me be the rock star’ moment.

This all leaves me wondering if
A) I really am a cooler mom than most, but my kid just doesn’t realize it yet; or
B) All moms think the above applies to them; which might mean most parents probably aren’t as cool as they think they are.

I’m going with A! 🙂

  1. #1 by Martin on January 8, 2005 - 8:33 pm

    Hmmm… it sounds like maybe you should stick to the Hussle!

  2. #2 by ray on July 26, 2005 - 5:58 am

    lol most parents aren’t as cool as they think they are, but you’re children well never tell you that..:), any who i was doing a search trying to find a place where i can download the song Electric boogie (free) for my mother. She’s a consoler in a Camp for inner city children and she wants to do the dance as an activity with them. If it wouldn’t be too much to ask could you maybe share your Electric boogie with me? ^_^ or point me in the direction of a free web site that has it for mp3 download? Thanx in advance
    Julius

Leave a Reply

