iPod + Bose = mucho happinesso

angel
Not counting the lovely acrylic fiber optic angel that Grandma gave me (wink wink), my favorite Christmas gift (other than non-material gifts) is by far my 40GB iPod! And what goes better with an iPod than a Bose Wave music system. Such a nice, compact, powerful pair.
ipod-bose
One might ask why I didn’t opt for the Bose SoundDock designed specifically for ones iPod. The trouble is you can’t integrate other stereo equipment such as SIRIUS satellite radio, the SoundDock doesn’t have a CD player, basic radio, etc. So…the Wave is more cross-functional and only costs $100 more. If you’ve never experienced the unbelievable sound that comes out these little gems, you should check it out…it’s well worth the money. If you don’t believe me, here’s another testimonial.

So…I begin my quest to actually attempt to utilize 40GB on my iPod. I’m up to 31 songs and one audio book – ‘Quick & Simple Spanish’…which I can play in my car or on the Bose in the kitchen while I cook (not that that’s ever really gonna happen).

UPDATE: I received a number of questions regarding the cable used to connect my iPod to my Bose, so I posted this entry: http://blogs.sun.com/roller/page/lskrocki?entry=ipod_to_bose_cable

  1. #1 by jt on November 13, 2005 - 7:12 pm

    Can you please tell me exactly which cable you are using to connect the iPod to the bose? Standard AUX cable has 2 jacks…Thanks, jt

  2. #2 by kb on January 7, 2006 - 7:40 pm

    Yes! What cable are you using? I bought a Monster cable, but it has two prongs that are supposed to bo into my Wave radio, but I can only find one hole in the radion. Thanks!

  3. #3 by Bill Miles on January 29, 2006 - 12:06 pm

    Please let me know what cable is required to connect an ipod to a Bose Wave system….Thanks

  4. #4 by Patrick Case on April 4, 2006 - 12:53 pm

    I use an RCA to mini connectot. The two RCA male ends connect with the back of the Bose and the mini of course fits into the iPod. I agree that this is a remarkable combination – better than the Soundock by far. I use it in my bedroom and listen to audiobooks and music. The other use that I have put the Bose Wave to is giving me far superior sound out of my portable DVD player that my kids gave me for Christmas.

  5. #5 by Beth on May 13, 2006 - 11:38 am

    I have 2 line ins and 2 aux ins in the back of the Bose. I am assuming the monstor cable goes into aux in plugs and then the other single end into the ipod. My husband tried it and it didn’t work. Once the cords are connected correctly do you go to Aux on the Bose to hear the ipod mini?

  6. #6 by Lisa on November 13, 2007 - 8:07 am

    On May 13, 2006, "Beth" posted a question about the ipod+bose hookup not working for her. I have tried to find a way to access your reply to her but no luck, so here is a fresh post on a old topic (thank you very much for the topic!) Mine does not work either. My Bose Wave CD is the model that came out prior to the one you have pictured–mine has the top loading CD player and the buttons on the unit. Could this have anything to do with the problem–is it just TDO (Too Dam_ Old)?
    Also-would RCA cables work ?
    Thanks,
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

